Marek Nowicki prize

Since 2003 the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights has been awarding documentary filmmakers with the festival prize for excellent achievements in showing human rights in film. In 2006 the Board of the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights decided to name this prize with the name of Marek Nowicki (1947 – 2003), cofounder and for many years the President of the Foundation, cofounder of the Helsinki Committee in Poland.

This year the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights awards the Marek Nowicki festival prize to Jafar Panahi.

Jafar Panahi - director, writer and editor. In 1995, Panahi gained attention for his film The White Balloon, which won the Camera d'Or at Cannes, and has subsequently became one of the most important artists of the Iranian New Wave. Panahi’s films assume the humanistic perspective and discuss social issues such as child labor, discrimination against women (The Circle, Offside), economic and social exclusion (Crimson Gold). For these reasons they are usually banned in Iran while winning numerous awards at world festivals, including the most prestigious, such as the Golden Leopard at Locarno Film Festival (The Mirror, 1997) and the Golden Lion in Venice (The Circle, 2000). Panahi was arrested in March 2010 and accused of fomenting protests, disseminating antigovernment propaganda and producing films without official permit. In addition to a six-year prison sentence, he is banned from making films or leaving the country for 20 years. His last film, This Is Not a Film, filmed during his house arrest, was smuggled from Iran to the Cannes festival in 2011 on a USB drive hidden in a cake. On October 26, 2012, the European Parliament awarded Panahi and lawyer Nasrin Sotoudeh the Andrei Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought. (kw)

2011 This is not a Film
2010 The Accordion
2007 Persian Carpet (Untying the Knot episode)
2006 Offside
2003 Crimson Gold
2000 The Circle
1997 The Mirror
1997 Ardekoul
1995 White Balloon
1992 The Last Exam
1992 The Friend
1991 Kish
1988 The Wounded Heads



2011 Zhao Liang
2010 Fredrick Wiseman
2009 Wiktor Daszuk
2008 Errol Morris
2007 Rithy Panh
2006 Marcel Łoziński
2005 Maciej Drygas
2004 Fabrizio Lazzaretti
2003 Kim Longinotto