in short

WATCH DOCS. Human Rights in Film is:

- the art of documentary cinema – each year, the festival screens a few dozen of the world-class documentary films, mostly Polish premieres;

- a real social movement – the grass-roots annual traveling film festival continues to develop and grow through local community involvement;

- Warsaw’s oldest documentary film festival and one of the biggest film events in Poland, garnering an annual audience of tens of thousands viewers in the whole country;

- international festival in Warsaw with a film competition, serving also as the repertoire and organizational platform for the traveling festival, university video libraries, and WATCH DOCS free of charge on-line channel on one of the biggest Polish VoD sites - Kinoplex;

- a joint project of the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights - Poland’s leading human rights organization, the Centre for Contemporary Art Ujazdowski Castle - the largest interdisciplinary art center in Eastern and Central Europe, and the Social Institute of Film – an organization specializing in promoting socially engaged documentary film. Over 70 partners, co-organizers of the traveling festival, have joined the three main organizers in this exceptional project;

- meetings and panel discussions with experts, human rights advocates, journalists, and politicians. Among the personages which took part in the previous editions of the festival one should mention Sergey Kovaliov, Alexander Milinkevich, Ludmila Alexeyeva, Tadeusz Mazowiecki, Ewa Łętowska, Wiktor Osiatyński, Andrzej Rzepliński, Janina Ochojska, and Rober Badinter.

- a project backed by Poland’s and Europe’s most important supporters of cinema and human rights culture, including the Open Society Foundations, Warsaw Municipal Office for Culture, European Commission, European Parliament Information Bureau in Warsaw, Polish Film Institute, Polish Filmmakers Association, Polish Government Civic Initiative Fund, EEA Financial Mechanism and Norwegian Financial Mechanism, Embassies of the Netherlands, France, Canada, Germany, Great Britain, Switzerland, Norway and Finland.